Stop and Try My Shoes

Next time
You deign to look at me
With a hate filled heart,
Judgement
Clouding your eyes,
Stop,
For one moment,
And think:
If I looked at you,
With a heart full of hate,
And judging eyes.
How would you feel?
Step into my shoes,
And feel
How uncomfortable they are.
Remember those oozing blisters,
The next time our paths collide.

Today’s prompt is to write a poem which explores stigma.

This entry was posted in Life Lessons, Mental Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stop and Try My Shoes

  1. topazo says:

    beautiful…’love your neighbor as yourself…whatever you want men to do to you, do same unto others’

    Like

  2. cindy knoke says:

    Brilliant and powerful!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Excellent poem Pooky. We don’t really know what life is like for others and there is a lot of truth in saying to anyone who queries our life style or life in general to stand in our shoes for a day and see what we have to contend with. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. mtanub says:

    This is why I choose to only let people lead me into maybe not liking them after they’ve tied the noose around their necks and not when I don’t know anything about them yet pass judgement. And even then I don’t like it.

    Like

  5. wbdeejay says:

    I feel very strong emotion in this!

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

