Poetry Prompt 19 – Rhyme and Reason

write a poem which uses rhyme to communicate a serious topic in a light hearted way

Today’s prompt is to write a poem which uses rhyme to communicate a serious topic in a light hearted way

You might like to consider:

  • What serious topic should you approach – is there something you feel strongly about?
  • How can you incorporate rhyme without seeming to belittle your serious message?
  • How can you use rhyme to help you to make your point?
  • Should you use rhyme throughout or just in places to emphasise a point?
  • What type of rhyming scheme should you use?
  • Should you use a regular rhythm to emphasis your rhyme or go for something more subtle?

Happy reading, happy writing -and if you do write, don’t forget to post your poem (in full or as a link) in the comments below so we can all enjoy it.

Follow the prompts on Facebook or Pinterest.

This entry was posted in Poetry Prompts. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Poetry Prompt 19 – Rhyme and Reason

  1. Don’t you ever
    Go to bed?
    You’re far too clever
    Is what I said.
    You’ll find you’ll never
    Clear your head.
    Your next endeavor?
    To bed! To bed!
    O_o

    Liked by 5 people

  2. Pingback: Poetry Prompt 19 – Rhyme and Reason – How to Create an Underclass | Morpethroad

  3. Pingback: A Life in Rhyme. | 42 Days Younger than Kylie

  4. Pingback: Advice for Aging | A Glass of Bubbly

  5. CC Champagne says:

    Should perhaps not have written this while I was hungry… *smile* http://ccchampagne.wordpress.com/2014/05/19/advice-for-aging/

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Rhyme and Reason: Why give the taxman more money? | Always Chum Poetry

  7. I wrote something at 3am and then this morning I discovered I had written this one earlier…I think I am writing in my sleep sometimes:) http://tracesofthesoul.wordpress.com/2014/05/19/emily-mae/

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: You Never Lived Inside my Tummy | Pooky's Poems

  9. PookyH says:

    My effort: You Never Lived Inside my Tummy | Pooky’s Poems
    https://pookypoetry.wordpress.com/2014/05/19/you-never-lived-inside-my-tummy/ <You never lived inside my tummy

    Like

  10. Pingback: Really awfully dead serious | Colonialist's Blog

I'd love to hear your thoughts...