Jane

Just as things could get no worse
Along came Jane, my wounds to nurse.
Not once did she complain or cry,
Each day she taught me how to fly.

Inspired by the prompt:

Write a poem in which the first letter of every line spells out the name of somebody you admire and the poem explains why you admire them.

20140518-191428.jpg

This entry was posted in Daily Life, Emotions, Friendship, Mental Health, Relationships and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Jane

  1. colonialist says:

    Aren’t you lucky she wasn;t named Ermintrude-Petronella? 🙂

    Like

    • PookyH says:

      Ha ha! Indeed it would have made for a somewhat longer poem. Her surname was Bunclark and my married name is Hesmondhalgh so we sympathise with each other over what names we’ve married into!

      (the belated response is because this comment was in my spam for some reason. It is duly unspammed. Bad WordPress.

      Like

  2. Lovely Pooky, and yes until you do spread those wings you stay fixed to the one spot. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

    • PookyH says:

      Thank you – Jane was my teacher. She was (is) wonderful. I lived with her and her family for a few months after school and to this day am very close to the whole family.

      Like

      • That struck me as Jane was my best friend in grade school. She and her family had me over every Friday for supper and sleepover…my “normal” weekend away from home. I almost wrote about her or her mum, Joyce. Lovely poem and tribute.

        Like

  3. Short, but filled with gratitude and courage. Lovely. x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. CC Champagne says:

    Short and sweet! Very nice!

    Liked by 1 person

    • PookyH says:

      Thank you, I did her surname too at first but cut it out as I quite liked that it felt complete at just four lines and somehow adding to it detracted from it (that sounds non-sensical, I know)

      Like

  5. wbdeejay says:

    your verse in four lines
    perfect in meaning and rhymes

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

