No Words

Sometimes there are no words,
I’ve found
My search goes unfulfilled.
I look about
Eyes up,
Eyes down,
My inspiration’s drowned.
 
Some things are just too hard for words.
And though words are my friend,
It’s times I really need them most,
That friendship seems to end.

I think I can rely on them,
To know just what to say,
To find a way to calm your nerves…
Make your worries go away.
But words run off to distant lands
When times become too hard
 
Lost, or hiding, most unkindly
We sit scared and scarred.
So please forgive me
When you need me
To help you ease your pain
If I simply hold your hands,
From speaking, I’ll refrain.

This entry was posted in Death, Emotions, Mental Health, Messages for my Children, Parent-Child, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to No Words

  1. Beautiful, and sometimes that is all that is needed and can say so much more than any word could. 🙂

    Christine x

    Like

  2. Wonderful poem about empathy. There is much comfort in simply being held and heard.

    Like

    • PookyH says:

      Thank you, I hope so – you know that feeling where you *should* know what to say though? This was after a friend received the most awful, awful news and there just was nothing at all to say… not one thing except ‘I’m here…’ it felt rather inadequate.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Cuddles: the best medicine | Pooky's Poems

  4. Cubby says:

    An incredibly moving poem. You captured the feeling of helplessness and inadequacy of words perfectly. Excellent poem.

    Like

    • PookyH says:

      Thanks Cubby. It was borne of sheer desperation when I just didn’t know how to comfort a friend. The reassurance I got via this poem that sometimes words aren’t needed really helped.

      Like

  5. wbdeejay says:

    Such a painful topic, handled beautifully and boldly. Touching. It’s good to remember touch and silence can also be a strong support.

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...