Goodbye

The last words you heard were I love you.
There were no words that we left unsaid.
I was sad you were finally leaving,
Last gasps from a hospital bed.

Despite the unlikely surroundings,
So clinical, stark and so bare,
As you left, we shared memorable moments,
And I knew that you knew that I cared.

I held your hand fast, my arms round you,
As I emptied my heart in your ear.
You squeezed my hand gently, said thank you,
And then you were no longer here.

For my grandpa – my hero – who died peacefully in my arms today and will reside forever in my heart. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Goodbye

  1. Michael says:

    So sorry to hear of your loss Pooky, I know he was very special to you…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sue Gifford says:

    So sorry for your loss Pooky. RIP Grandpa. Sending love and virtual hugs. Sue

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jfb57 says:

    What a wonderful leaving you gave him Pooks. A very special bond between two very special people xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am so very sorry for your loss my wonderful Pooky. I am here for you if you need anything. Sending you all my love and big hugs xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jenny Langley says:

    Love and hugs. Our thoughts are with you and yours. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

