Missing You

How can you miss someone
You’ve never met?
Asked a friend,
Who did not understand.

We were parted by thousands of miles,
But I still,
Went to you,
When I needed a hand.

Your hand nestled in mine,
I felt safe,
I felt fine,
You were kind,
You were calm,
You were there

And across all those miles,
We shared laughter
And smiles,
And tears
And tantrums,
And care.

Now you’re gone
And I miss you,
Though we never met,
You were there,
Just an email away.

You sent pictures
And poems
And reasons to smile,
Now you’re gone
And life feels more grey.

But I know that you’d say,
That this isn’t the way,
To remember you,
Please find a smile.
You liked to be happy,
To look for the best,
But please let me cry for a while?

Give me time,
I’ll be fine,
I’ll remember you well,
As the woman who drank gin with bears.
I will laugh,
I will smile,
But it might take a while,
And I’ll never not wish you still there.

[Dedicated to a dear friend who I met through poetry, right back when I started, and who sadly passed away on the day I wrote my thousandth poem.  I have a funny feeling she’d have liked that.  I will never forget her strength, her courage and most of all her wit.  With love xxx]

This entry was posted in Death, Friendship, Relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Missing You

  1. Yu/stan/kema says:

    Wonderful tribute to your friend, Pooky.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jfb57 says:

    This is so sad but such a wonderful tribute xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. dwnb says:

    This is excellent, and I can relate so well. I wept when Amalarian died … we had spoken for a year and a half, but I cherished her advice, and life experience. I hope that during our brief encounter that I lightened her day a little 🙂 because she did me.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

