When the Rain Falls

When the rain falls,
I feel more able
To face the world.
It’s strange.
The sun
Makes me shrink away;
Unable to live up to the expectation
A bright day brings.

Blue skies make me grey.

But grey skies
Make my troubles fade a little.
Not much is expected when the sky is grey.
The world is glum.
Downturned mouths
Are easier to bear.
I feel less out of place.
I can venture out,
Without
Feeling I must
Force
A smile.


Daily Poem #998

This entry was posted in Animals & Nature, Daily Life, depression, Emotions, Mental Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When the Rain Falls

  1. Ameena k.g says:

    I felt this poem as it rained also today. This game me a new perspective to look at Grey skies. Beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jfb57 says:

    I know what you mean Pooks. I wonder if it is so we can put on baggy clothes and curl up as the weather seems to give us permission to hide. I find the coming of the summer hard. Bright clothes and a sense of the need for energy and happiness. Hard to cope with!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

