Words Said, Words Heard

The words you say to me
Take on a significance
Beyond what you intend.

For me your words grow,
They twist and distort,
I make bad out of good,
And hate out of love.

You say small things,
Forgotten almost before they are spoken.
I hear big things.
They taunt me for days.

I replay your words
Again and again in my mind.
I agonise over the whys,
And the wherefores.

I convince myself I have done wrong.
I am sure that you hate me.
I’m certain these will be the last words
You will waste on me.

You have no idea.
I do not tell you.
I don’t know how.

I wish you knew
But my anxiety stops me,
Whilst fuelling these thoughts.

This entry was posted in Anxiety, Emotions, Friendship, Mental Health, Relationships and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Words Said, Words Heard

  1. jfb57 says:

    We do put our friends through it don’t we?

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

