Too Quick to Judge?

I judged you based on hearsay,
Whispers of discontent
That painted pictures
Deep and dark
Of many years misspent.
And you looked kind of shady
Through my now so-biased eyes
That the day you stopped to speak to me,
I was taken by surprise.
You were not how I imagined,
You were nothing like they said,
But perhaps a troubled past of yours
Resided in your head.
But right here, now, you treated me
With dignity, respect
Just as someone ‘normal’ might..
Well, what did I expect?
So maybe I misjudged you,
Or maybe they were right,
But I felt ashamed for judging you
And quickly losing sight,
Of the need to form opinions
Of my own and based on truth
And not based on loose conjecture
Of what you were like in youth.

This entry was posted in Daily Life, Life Lessons and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

