Morning Run

We run before the others rise,
Beneath ink blue and starry skies,
Our feet upon cold pavements beat,
The only feet upon the street.

We like our early morning run,
Whilst others think it can’t be fun,
For me and my four-legged friend,
It signifies the night time’s end.

And when the nights are full of fear,
The morning runs fill me with cheer,
And more so now my little dog,
Comes with me, on my morning jog.

This entry was posted in Animals & Nature, Daily Life, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Morning Run

  1. A lovely poem, and I feel that the morning run starts the day off on a good note. I love running although I don’t have a dog to keep me company on my travels.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jfb57 says:

    So glad you have some time of peace. Envy your ability to run. I so need to lose some weight!

    Liked by 1 person

    • PookyH says:

      It’s hugely helpful for me in resetting after night terrors. I have the opposite problem and have to limit my running to 3 miles and up my calorie intake as running & anorexia is a combo that makes my psychologist twitchy 😉

      Like

    • PookyH says:

      And as for your weight – I’ve no idea other than that to me you are perfect just as you are. Sending hugs. Xx

      Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

