Minute by Minute

One day at a time, they say
But there’s so long in each day,
When I wake up in the morning
Bedtime seems so far away.
It’s a point off in the distance,
Shrunk so small it’s hard to see;
And I’m looking round for lifeboats,
But it all depends on me.
But I can’t…. and so I panic,
About how to fill the time,
And how to block the darkest thoughts
That fill my tired mind.
But it seems too hard to contemplate,
And so I break it down,
Into chunks that I might manage,
In the hope that I won’t drown.
And the chunks that I can manage,
Might be very small some days,
But as long as I can make it through
The turbulence and waves
Then it doesn’t really matter,
How I do it – I don’t think,
So I’ll take it by the minute,
In the hope that I won’t sink.


Daily poem #852

This entry was posted in anorexia, Anxiety, Mental Health, Recovery and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Minute by Minute

  1. Chunking works so well for anything that seems insurmountable.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Its true that breaking tasks down is a good way to make them more manageable, little by little, slow and steady. A lovely, thoughtful poem with useful insights.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jfb57 says:

    Consider us & all the other things you have dipped into as flotsam & just grab hold of the nearest piece. Hold firm until you can let go & move to the next piece. That way, before you know it, you will find yourself on the shore xxx

    Liked by 2 people

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

