Crossroads

I know this path,
I know it well,
I walked it once,
But then I fell.
And then walked back
Walked where I’d been
In search of hazards
I’d not seen,
So I could walk
This path once more
With no fear I’d
Re-meet the floor.
I walked again,
I walked it well,
I’m at the point
Where I last fell.
And so the path
That lies ahead
Is path unknown,
A book unread.
The path behind
Is safe and sure
Perhaps I should
Turn back once more..
But part of me,
A shrinking voice
Sees reasons why
I might rejoice
If I walk on
Where I’ve not been;
There may be bright times
Not yet seen.
But maybe dark clouds
Gather there
It’s of those maybe-clouds
I’m scared.

This entry was posted in Eating Disorders, Emotions, Mental Health, Recovery, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Crossroads

  1. Very evocative poem. But I think it’s always important to walk ahead, facing fears and challenges you’ve never had before. Whenever I’ve done that my self-esteem and sense of freedom from my mental health problems has grown. http://bit.ly/1ER5cLY

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yu/stan/kema says:

    Very good poem, Pooky.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jfb57 says:

    I’m not good at recognising where I’ve been before as in this poem. I need to build that knowledge. I do just keep plowing on & do wonder why it keeps happening. But then iti s pointed out that the path hasn’t been exactly the same. Perhaps it had the occasional flower for me to smell.
    If I don’t keep going I’d never know xx

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

