Trying

In cotton wool
I feel so safe
No harm will come my way
But I know I’ll have to face
The real world
Myself one day.
Protect me,
Yes I know you’ll try
To keep me
Safe from harm
But that job is quite impossible
Your presence is my balm.
You can’t be with me all the time
All hours day and night
Though I know the way you love me
That you’ll try with all your might.
But I need to learn to stand alone
And fight things day by day.
I will try my very hardest
To remain safe
Come what may.

This entry was posted in depression, Mental Health, Relationships, self-harm and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Trying

  1. jfb57 says:

    …but you don’t have to do it all by yourself all at once, now. Gently let go of the hands you are holding. Let the arms around you gently fall when you relax. Don’t be stubborn! #gives headteacher look xxx

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

