Supportive

Thank you for not judging
And for showing me the way
To keep myself far safer
On another tricky day.
You didn’t tell me not to
And you didn’t shake your head;
But you did give some suggestions
Of some safer ways instead.
I appreciate your caring
And the knowledge that you shared.
I walked in feeling helpless
But I left feeling prepared.

[to the GP who offered outstanding support re self harm. You can read both my good and my bad experiences today here]

This entry was posted in Mental Health, self-harm, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Supportive

  1. jfb57 says:

    Having read the post Pooks, this poem is lovely & would be lovely for the Dr yo see it. Thank goodness for the good ones!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your honest sharing is powerful and wonderful. It has the potential to be one of your most powerful books, when the time is right for you. I’m so glad you found the second doctor. I wish I lived closer so I could spend time with you, watching a DVD or listening to music. I’m pleased you have your lovely Tom and supportive friends. I shall continue to love and care about you from a distance.
    Hugs
    Tricia xxx

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Like your poem, written from the heart I agree that it would be nice if you could show it to your doctor,its good that you’ve got a sympathetic GP, they can offer great support.

    Liked by 1 person

    • PookyH says:

      I wrote her a card to say thank you and also wrote a letter to the partners to acknowledge her excellent support but also that of the receptionist and nurse (who I saw the next day). I also gave the doctor a copy of my book. I have this weird need to let people know ‘i’m not always like this. i was capable. look what i did’

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

