Panic Rising

Anxiety bubbles up,
Threatening to overthrow me;
Panic like a stranglehold
Round my neck,
Clawing at my ribs,
Darting from my eyes,
Present in my jagged breaths,
All consuming.
I fumble for a life saver,
Something to keep me buoyant
In turbulent waves of anxiety…
I fear I will drown today..
And then
Music washes over me,
Deepening my breaths,
Slowing the beat of my heart,
Calming me,
Saving me from panic.
Today I will swim.

This entry was posted in Anxiety, Mental Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Panic Rising

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

