Life Review

When I was 5
I walked brave and tall,
I had no worries,
No, none at all.
I skipped and I danced
And I held my head high,
And you couldn’t find anything
I wouldn’t give a try.

When I was 10,
I was far less sure,
I wasn’t always happy
All the time any more.
Little things niggled,
And I tried to be cool,
But I loved my family
And my friends and my school.

When I was 15,
Things were bad and dark,
I passed my time
With my friends in the park.
We were all good mates
But we kept the talk light,
I’d never think to tell my mates
I wasn’t feeling bright.

When I was 20,
I had learnt from my mistakes,
I had learnt to do more talking,
And I learnt ways to escape.
But I didn’t really understand,
The person I’d become,
My head was in my studies
And I didn’t have much fun.

When I was 25,
I’d met my other half,
He taught me how to love myself,
And taught me how to laugh.
It took a little while still,
To work out what to do,
I was doing what I thought I should,
But couldn’t see things through.

When I was 30,
I’d become a Mum of two,
And at last, with help, I’d found myself,
And knew what I should do.
It was hard to find a balance,
And perhaps I worked too often,
But my daughters kept me grounded,
And my heart began to soften.

I cannot write the verses yet,
To finish off this poem,
But at last I’m feeling happy
With the way that life is going.

This entry was posted in Emotions, Family, Life Lessons and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

