Underestimated 

They said you wouldn’t get it.
They said you wouldn’t care.
They said it was a waste of time,
My even being there.
They said you wouldn’t listen.
They said you wouldn’t learn.
They said the things I talked about
Would not be your concern.
They called it wrong, you did care
And you paid attention too,
You heard each word I had to say,
And added your thoughts too.
They need to learn to listen,
In the way they think you won’t,
Because from where I’m standing,
You all listen, but they don’t.

This entry was posted in Daily Life, Life Lessons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Underestimated 

  1. OnTheWay... says:

    Reminds me of when my primary school teacher told me that my dream of being a nurse aged 8 (mum was one) was ridiculous because I couldn’t read properly, I’d kill the patients… learning I have dyslexia aged 20 explained the difficulty but having managed a distinction in my MSc and doing what I do now, I’d say perhaps I’ve showed that to not be true…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Listening is such a art form Pooky. I like how you concluded this poem.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

