Dysmorphic Lies

Have you stopped to consider
The hurt and the pain
That you cause
When you tell me I’m pretty
Again.
You think that you’re helping,
You think that it’s kind;
But I’ll never believe you,
I’m slave to my mind.

My mind says I’m ugly,
I’m ugly and fat,
And the thing is it’s easier
For me to hear that;
It feels like it’s honest
And valid and true.
My mind doesn’t lie in the way
That you do.

This entry was posted in Eating Disorders, Friendship, Mental Health, Relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dysmorphic Lies

  1. Work on your esteem. Revealing piece, nice job.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. wbdeejay says:

    Very powerful poem, with a bite at the end! Wow.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

