Understanding Self-Harm

They didn’t understand it
So they listened.
They didn’t understand it
When they heard some more,
They still didn’t understand it
So they questioned…
What is it that you’re doing this for?
They listened very hard
But didn’t get it,
They really tried so hard to understand,
But unless you’ve been there
And you’ve tried it
And it helped you,
Perhaps you can’t see
Why cutters take their blade in hand.
Perhaps it’s better that you
Never understand it,
The very most important thing
Is that you try,
And that you listen
And you don’t cast shame or judgement,
And you offer love and tissues
When we cry.

This entry was posted in depression, Mental Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Understanding Self-Harm

  1. lilypup says:

    This has always been a tough issue for me to understand. Until I remembered banging my head against concrete as a teen to get the pain out. Then I understood self-harm. http://lilypupslife.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cheryl-Lynn says:

    So true…many emergencies in hospitals are not trained to give the proper help when someone needs treatment for their wounds…some calls us telling us they were either scolded or shamed. Great poem!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Supernova! says:

    Well-written poem. This situation is analogous to depression- most people, even family, will tell you that you shouldn’t be depressed; that your life is perfect. Apart from judging, most people don’t understand how we feel, let alone “offer love and tissues When we cry.”
    Thank you for your poem. I have the same thoughts on people judging depression as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. OnTheWay... says:

    Sometimes I wish I didn’t understand, could go back to a time when I didn’t know what I know now.
    I only hope that I can use what I’ve learned to help others, then maybe something good can come out of this darkness.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

