Dear Friend – a poem about depression

I was going to call you,
But didn’t know how,
I never know what
I should say to you now.
I know that we’re friends,
And that nothing should change,
But since I’ve been depressed
I’ve been feeling so strange.
I know it’s the same for you,
You feel it too,
With no sure idea
What to say or to do.
But, my friend, what would help me,
More than you know,
Is if we could let the ‘depressed’ label go
And keep acting normally,
Just like the past,
And perhaps for a moment,
I can be me at last.
Can we give it a try?
I can’t do it on my own,
Reach out and talk to me
Help me feel less alone.

This entry was posted in depression, Friendship, Life Lessons, Mental Health, Relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Dear Friend – a poem about depression

  1. redgladiola says:

    Resonant. That’s the conundrum, though. People can’t always figure out what you need if you don’t ask.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. topazo says:

    Wow…so touching

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yu/stan/kema says:

    Very good poem, Pooky. I like it. Keep writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. words4jp says:

    i must ditto redgladiola’s comment. xx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. lljostes says:

    Do we have problems talking to someone with Diabetes, or Asthma? Depression is an illness–an owie of our brain–and it will heal! And we will feel better. A great poem to capture the “differentness” felt by those with or relating to someone with depression. Nicely done!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

