Five More Sleeps

Five more sleeps ’til Christmas,
I’m so excited I could pop,
In five nights time I’ll listen out
For a tinkle and clip clop,
As Santa and his reindeer
Gallop through cold winter skies,
Fuelled equally by fairy dust
And three day old mince pies.

They’ll deliver special presents
To children big and small;
But earlier my Mum said that
Some kids get none at all.
I asked my Mum about it,
Is it ‘cos they’ve not been good?
Oh no, she swiftly answered
Santa would treat them if he could;
But some children don’t have a place
To go home to each night
And so it’s hard for Santa
To get those kids’ addresses right.

The thought of all those children
With no bedroom and no toys,
Made me feel so very sad
For those poor girls and boys.
There must be something we can do
I thought, is there way?
A way to make them happy
With a safe warm place to stay?

My Mum told me that Shelter
Were doing all they could,
And if they had the funds to help
More children, then they would.

So my wish from you this Christmas
Isn’t dolls or toys or prams
But that you please give to Shelter
Just a little if you can.

[Based on a conversation with my children today.  93,000 children will be homeless this Christmas in Britain alone.  Please consider making a small donation (or a big donation).  It can cost as little as £50 to find a family a home – what an amazing gift to give.]

shelter

I have no affiliation with Shelter, this is not a poem they have asked for, or even know about.  This is just something I (and my children now!) really, really care about.

This entry was posted in Children's Poems, Life Lessons and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Five More Sleeps

  1. johncoyote says:

    Reblogged this on johncoyote and commented:
    Time to be kind and show concern. Give to someone in need if you can. A blog needed to be read. The gift of a hello and smile. It also a free gift we can share.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. so touching. lovely poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A lovely poem and something to think about into the new year, so many homeless families, always worthwhile donating to Shelter.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

