The Best Gift

The best gift you could give me?
Just a little of your time.
I’ve got far too many bath salts,
And I’m not that keen on wine.

A small space in your diary,
That is marked out just for me,
Would be more gratefully received,
Than jumpers, rugs or tea.

We see each other often,
But in passing, time goes fast;
I’d like to sit a while,
Catching up as folk rush past.

So please don’t spend your money;
Even if your gift’s sublime,
It won’t be half as precious
As an hour of your time.

IMG_0382.JPG

This entry was posted in Family, Friendship, Life Lessons, Relationships and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Best Gift

  1. Love your poem, its so true, spending time with someone is better than buying a gift, companionship is priceless.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rsvendsen07 says:

    This is perfect! I’ve been thinking a lot about gifts this year and how much more I would rather have quality time with the givers than anything their money can buy. Well done!

    Liked by 2 people

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

