Learning Journey

There was a time
I knew it all,
I’d nothing left to learn.
I’d turn my nose up at advice,
Your wisdom, I would spurn.

Time passed
And I got older,
And less wise with passing years.
My knowledge ever-shrinking
With my ever-growing fears.

It’s not until you learn a lot,
You see what you don’t know,
The more we learn,
The more we see
How far we’ve left to go.

This entry was posted in Daily Life, Life Lessons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Learning Journey

  1. Clever rhyme, and so true.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How tragically true! My 9 year old certainly thinks he knows more than I do!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. topazo says:

    beautiful…the more we know, the more we realize how much we don’t know! learning never stops; to stop learning is to die…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lovely, thoughtful poem, Pooky. I’m 64 and feel I’ve just begun to scratch the surface. But oh my, how I love to learn. xx

    Liked by 2 people

  5. This poem is fantastic, reminds me so much of me and my sibblings. LOL! It could really be any sibblings but I try to apply things where they fit. I have nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award: http://live2laugh4love.wordpress.com/2014/12/13/very-inspiring-blogger-award-3/

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

