Another Day Without You

In my sleep it’s all alright again,
I laugh, I run, I play,
Then my 6am alarm sounds
And I must face another day.
Another day without you,
With no saviour by my side,
No companion to share anecdotes,
You’re not there to share life’s ride.

I find myself forgetting,
That you’re gone
Ten times each day,
And I turn to tell you stories
As I wend my broken way,
First through one day,
Then another;
People say it gets less hard,
But I don’t think I’ll recover,
My heart’s far too badly scarred.

[this is the imagined viewpoint of a character in a book I’m reading. My loved ones are all alive and kicking thankfully]

This entry was posted in Death, Emotions, Family, Love, Relationships, Romantic and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another Day Without You

  1. topazo says:

    thank God for that!
    losing a loved one is hard….but it really does get better

    Liked by 2 people

  2. You’ve captured grief well. Thank you for letting us know this was not inspired by a recent personal experience.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad to hear your heart isn’t breaking and that you are imagining the pain of the character you’ve been reading about. Still I like your poem about love and loss, true enough it does get better, though sometimes hard to believe at the time.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

