Ruled by Anxiety

I can’t get a thought in edgeways
When my head is full of fear,
Anxiety wreaks havoc
And my other thoughts aren’t clear.
The part of me that’s strong and sane
Is sitting in a well,
It tries to shout advice to me
I think, it’s hard to tell
Because it sounds so distant
And its words are all obscured
By the nasty mumbo jumbo
That I’m trying to ignore.
Eventually I break and cave
And anxious thoughts run free.
And when they do,
For a short time
I wish I wasn’t me.

IMG_9721.JPG

This entry was posted in Mental Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Ruled by Anxiety

  1. words4jp says:

    I hate these thoughts – they have been taunting me as of late….

    Like

  2. Garry Fowler says:

    Bit too close to home šŸ˜‰ But well written and erudite, as always Pooky

    Like

  3. jfb57 says:

    When I read this, I thought you had written it just for me! I’m going to reblog over on Julia’s place if that’s OK?

    Like

    • PookyH says:

      It always delights me when people want to share what I’ve written. i’m sorry it resonated with you though and I hope your anxiety passed and things went okay xxx

      Like

  4. jfb57 says:

    Reblogged this on Julia's Place and commented:
    This poem by my very clever dear friend Pooky popped up in my mailbox on the day when the demons were rampant in my head. She expresses exactly how I felt but in such a better way they I could tell you!

    Like

  5. Anxiety and fear slow you down to a grind. Sorry if you’re in its grip right now. Clever poem. ā¤

    Like

  6. fibee5 says:

    Reblogged this on Fi's Thoughts and commented:
    I know these feelings a little too well.

    Like

  7. OnTheWay... says:

    Beautiful and heart breaking in its truth. Thank You xx

    Like

  8. I love your poems! I know those racing thoughts – I used to follow them all over the place, now I don’t do that as much. Thank you for being here, Pookie.

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

