With Love to a Dear Friend

You’re far away and hurting
And I don’t know what to say,
Is there anything that I can do
To ease your pain away?
I know it was expected
And he’d lived a long full life,
But it doesn’t make a difference
To his daughters, sons or wife.
No matter when the time came,
It would always seem too soon;
I’m sure there’s not a lot
You’d not give for an afternoon
With your Dad who meant so much
To people far and wide,
But more to you than anyone
Your love was hard to hide.
He’ll never really go, you know,
His memory will live on,
In anecdotes
And chalets (where the hot tap won’t turn on).
I’ll be right here when you need me,
I just don’t know what to say,
Or what to do or when to call,
But I won’t go away.
Instead I will be waiting
‘Til you’re ready for a hug.
Or a gin to ease the pain
I think I’ll bring a jug…
So call me when you’re ready,
And it’s okay if you weep,
But take solace knowing though he’s gone,
Your memories are for keeps.

This entry was posted in Ageing, Death, Emotions, Friendship, Parent-Child, Relationships and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to With Love to a Dear Friend

  1. Julia Skinner (@theheadsoffice) says:

    My son’s father died unexpectedly a couple of weeks ago. It has been very traumatic & knocked me side wards. This helped. Thank you Pooky!

    Like

  2. Ponder says:

    Oh my, what a lovely poem of arms reaching out.

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

