Rewriting Nightmares

Change my dreams Mama,
Comes a sleepy voice.
A lion is chasing me,
And I can’t get away,
And I’m scared.
Hush little bear,
Mama’s here now.
Close your eyes.
I see the lion,
He’s not chasing you,
He wants to play.
He’s a special lion with no claws,
Who loves to cuddle.
Why don’t you run and play with him?
Soon, she is sleeping soundly,
A smile plays on her lips.
And on mine.
Slowly, but surely,
I’m getting the hang of this.

IMG_9598.JPG

This entry was posted in Animals & Nature, Daily Life, Family, Parent-Child, Parenting, Poems about Children, Relationships and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rewriting Nightmares

  1. topazo says:

    wow…that was so cool!

    Like

  2. Ponder says:

    How precious!!

    Like

  3. So cute!! I hope you frame that image! And clever how you turned something scary into something playful. 🙂

    Like

  4. Emily Page says:

    That is pure genius! The poem too!

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...