Are We Nearly There Yet?

Are we nearly there yet?
Excited voices cry.
We haven’t left the driveway,
And we’re still to say goodbye.

Are we nearly there yet?
They ask again, within a mile.
I laugh and answer honestly,
That this could take a while.

Are we nearly there yet?
They ask for the hundredth time,
And I start to quite look forward
Not to tea, but to some wine.

Are we nearly there yet?
They are getting restless now,
They’re bored of playing car games
And of counting all the cows.

Are we nearly there yet?
If not soon, there’ll be a riot,
There isn’t much that I’d not give
Now for some peace and quiet.

Are we nearly there yet?
And at last we really are,
And before I kill my darlings,
We can leave this blasted car.

This entry was posted in Daily Life, Family, Frivolity and Frippery, Parent-Child, Parenting, Poems about Children, Relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Are We Nearly There Yet?

  1. chattinatti says:

    Very humorous! Love the rhythm as well. 🙂

    Like

  2. I always answer, “Yes.” Somehow, I don’t hear that question very much. 🙂

    Like

  3. Love this. When Ken was an adult he came back home to house sit while Rod and I went on a driving holiday from Melbourne to Sydney. We were about an hour into our very long journey when the car phone rang, it was Ken and he said “Are we there yet?”. It was a moment I’ll always treasure.

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

