Futile Lullaby

Twinkle twinkle little star,
Force me to sing one more bar,
Of this rather dreary song,
And my will, will not be strong.
I sing it softly to induce
Your sleep, but please hand me a noose,
For this is the 500th time,
I’ve sung this tried and tested rhyme;
And still you seem so far from tired,
In fact you’re looking rather wired.
This could be a painful night,
I’m exhausted, but you’re bright
And breezy as proverbial day,
But baby, it is night NOT day.
You’ll laugh all night, or scream, or shout,
And what I know without a doubt,
Is as the sun peeks out her head,
You’ll snuggle down into your bed,
And rest so calm and so serene:
The sweetest soul you’ve ever seen.

20140804-201624-72984543.jpg
[for Laura and her little night owl]

This entry was posted in Daily Life, Family, Frivolity and Frippery, Parent-Child, Parenting, Poems about Children, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Futile Lullaby

  1. This brings back some happy memories of hushabye nights with my two wee dears, one sleeping through the day, the other sleeping through the night. I was in a state of befuddled sleep deprivation for a long time. Still now they’ve both grown up and left home I find myself looking back on those times when we were all together and get quite wistful and nostalgic.

    Like

    • PookyH says:

      Did you enjoy it at the time??? Sounds familiar 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • I had some very happy times with them, despite the sleep deprivation!

        Like

      • PookyH says:

        It’s funny how you recast the memories too. Lyra was a remarkably good baby who never cried, but she also really enjoyed being awake. Tom and I watched the whole of The West Wing in her first year as we’d pop a disk on whilst one of us paced the room with her. I’m sure it wasn’t much fun, yet when I hear The West Wing theme tune, I get all nostalgic!

        Like

  2. colonialist says:

    If you don’t soon go doo-doo,
    I am going to yell at you … 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, this is a lovely, funny, clever poem. And much more family friendly than Go the **** To Sleep. My sleep deprived nights were more than forty years ago, yet I remember them clearly.

    Ken never slept for longer than three hours at a time for the first four months of his life. Then when he did finally sleep longer he preferred to do it in the daytime. I spent many a night reading stories and singing songs until I thought my eyes would fall out of my head. I fixed him though; right up until the Christmas before he died I made him sit beside me every Christmas Eve and listen to me read Twas the Night Before Christmas. He was 26 the last time I read that book. Even though he’d initially complain, then hold up his hands saying “I submit, I submit”, it was a treasured family tradition. 🙂

    Thanks, Pooky, for the treasure of a poem and the lovely memories it evoked. xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. topazo says:

    the agony of motherhood…totally worth it, mothers would say

    Like

  5. words4jp says:

    I do remember those days….could not drive in the car unless a Barney Tape was playing…..if I hear the song Mr. Golden Sun one more time………….!

    Like

    • PookyH says:

      Ha! Yes we had a lullaby song CD – funny how you go through cycles. I recall having to plan journeys do we drove when they slept, then as they were dropping their daytime naps how we thought the world would end if they dozed off!

      Like

  6. Oh, how I remember those nights! Makes me want a nap just reading about it 🙂

    Like

  7. Oh yeah. That’s what they do!

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

