Fading scars

There was a time
When I hated the scars,
Criss-crossing,
Ragged,
Raw.
Telling my story
To those who cared to see.
Ashamed,
I covered them,
Hid them from view
Hid them from the judgement of the World.
Time has passed,
Things have changed,
My scars have faded.
The scars I grew to hate.
But now I miss them.
A part of my past
Is slowly fading,
Just as I’m ready
To own it.

20140719-195319-71599620.jpg

This entry was posted in Mental Health, self-harm and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fading scars

  1. OnTheWay... says:

    Beautiful and poignant.
    Thank you as always. x

    Like

  2. wbdeejay says:

    Very touching.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Deeply moving. A short poem that says so much. When I read it I immediately thought of Rudyard Kipling’s, IF. They are both powerful poems of overcoming and coming of age; one written in the feminine, the other the masculine. Just beautiful, Pooky. xx

    Like

    • PookyH says:

      That’s an interesting comparison (and a very lovely one) my wonderful English teacher and lifelong friend made us learn If by heart. She told us we’d draw on it often. She was right.

      Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

