Light Extinguished

There was a light,
But the tunnel felt so long.
Keep trying..
People urged
You can do it..
They cat called half-heartedly,
Not really believing what they said.
But he didn’t want to.
Why should he?
Could he not just give up?
What about your children..
The voices echoed
What about them..
He wondered.
Perhaps they’d be better off without him.
Perhaps he simply wasn’t good enough.
Perhaps this was where it should end.
Here,
In this tunnel,
Dimly lit by a distant light.
He was dragged from the tunnel.
Kicking and screaming.
Given a second chance
That he desperately
Did.
Not.
Want.
Now he looks back on that time;
I always had hope.
He says.
I did it for the children.
He says.
I knew I had to keep trying.
He says.
And inwardly wonders
If he deserved to be saved.

20140624-220025.jpg
Today’s prompt is to write a poem which addresses a topic people usually choose not to talk about.

This entry was posted in depression, Mental Health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Light Extinguished

  1. OnTheWay... says:

    Again thank you, the tunnel is familiar. Always told to look for the light at the end, turns out this tunnel is so long that from where I am now I can’t see lights at either end, it’s just pitch darkness.
    I too say a lot of things to avoid causing hurt to others when on the inside, it is just as impossible still. I’m sorry. Delete my rambling if you feel need xx

    Like

    • PookyH says:

      Why would I delete it. You speak perfect sense. I wish I could help and I hope the light gets brighter but I know it’s not easy. I’m thinking of you. Xx

      Like

  2. words4jp says:

    OnTheWay’s comment is essentially how I feel sometimes. Not always. But sometimes. The tunnel is quite distressing and so hard to navigate especially when you cannot see the light or you see it and it flickers and blows out. xx

    Like

  3. wbdeejay says:

    Deep dark underground, The only light I ever find is either the one I carry with me, or the one someone walking with me has.

    Like

  4. What a great poem, the way that it explores the feelings of someone in the depths of depression, and despair, seeing no way out, and then there’s light. All so beautifully expressed.

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

