To My Special Ring

I look at you and wonder,
About your former life;
When you once adorned the finger
Of another petite wife.
It’s been quite a long time,
Since you last sat upon a finger,
My husband’s great great grandmother,
Her memory still lingers,
As I look upon these diamonds
Of this dainty ring of mine,
Your husband had exquisite taste,
As, of course, does mine.
This ring marked your engagement,
A hundred years ago or more,
I think you had a happy life,
Despite living through the war.
I wonder where this ring has been,
Well, what with you did it do?
Your fingers were so tiny that
It only fitted you.
So since you died some time ago,
It lived inside a box,
Getting old and dull and grey,
Behind Tom’s mum’s old frocks.
But you have a new life now,
I wear you every day,
And every time I look at you,
I feel a special way;
You remind me that Tom loves me,
You were a gift to mark ten years,
You remind me too of times gone by,
Of blood and sweat and tears,
Of those lives that were before our own,
But for us paved the way,
I know you’re only jewellery,
But you make me smile each day.

20140615-195543.jpg

Today’s prompt is to write a poem which imagines the story behind an heirloom.

This entry was posted in Daily Life, Family, Love, Relationships, Romantic, To my husband and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to To My Special Ring

  1. colonialist says:

    Lovely ring and rhyme – a circle of some gems of lives, so to say!

    Like

  2. Lulu says:

    Lovely story and the poem gives it life

    Like

  3. Beautiful Pooky, what a great heirloom to have and still wear. Great connection with family.

    Like

  4. Lucid Gypsy says:

    A lovely ring and your poem makes me wonder about that lady, fascinating!

    Like

  5. dflorack says:

    It’s beautiful, Pooky. I wear my mother’s engagement ring on my right hand, and I cherish it.

    Like

  6. Lovely poem for a lovely ring!

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

