A Lesson in Failure

There was a time
When I was paralysed
With fear.
Fear of failure.
What would people think,
I thought,
If I tried,
But did not succeed?
It seemed almost better
Not to try at all.
If you do not try,
You cannot fail,
Thought my younger self.
Not so,
Said my father,
Whose next words
Remain with me always:
It is only when you do not try,
That you truly fail.
And so,
I try.

20140608-184338.jpg

Today’s prompt is to write a poem which is inspired by the most important lesson that you’ve ever learned

This entry was posted in Daily Life, Family, Life Lessons, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A Lesson in Failure

  1. angharad says:

    This is such a great poem!

    I feel like my life is paralysed because of the fear I have of failure. I think I have built a wall around myself, and now I’m at a stage where, as you write,
    ‘It seemed almost better
    Not to try at all.’

    I care so much that I am past caring, and I fear so much that I am past fearing. But at the same time, I am still here, so that must mean that I still try, because giving up is not an option and I am not a quitter. Although I wish I were a quitter, because then I could quit this illness and get on with life. It’s ironic isn’t it?!

    Thanks for being such an inspiration, to keep trying!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. You could be talking about me. 😊 great poem xx

    Liked by 2 people

    • PookyH says:

      Thank you. I can’t imagine you ever feeling like giving up. You come across as truly determined.

      Like

      • Oh Ive lived with fear for a long long time to the point of having fear of fear which is a horrible place to be. Ive turned it round though and things are easier now but it takes hard work and it never leaves me. It brings to mind the quote about courage not being the absence of fear, but persevering and doing things dedpite the fear. Xxx

        Like

  3. Lori Carlson says:

    My fear is reaching the end of a long journey (or process) and then failing. I believe it is due to a stigma my senior writing teacher put on me “You will never be a writer.” I didn’t write about cute cuddly kittens or rabbits. I wrote horror, Gothic suspense and science fiction. I may still be unpublished, but I do consider myself a writer.

    Some sagely advice from your father… a wonderful poem to express that advice.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. colonialist says:

    Wise words! And, when trying, give it your best shot.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. A wonderful poem full of wisdom and love. xx

    Like

  6. What a wise man your dad is Pooky. I liked this one, well done, I agree with you.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Nicely said. Your Father was a wise man.
    Melanie
    bd
    my other blog:
    http://www.beloved76.blogspot.com

    Like

  8. wbdeejay says:

    And through trying, you do
    When previously, you would never have shone through
    So happy that these words stuck with you!

    Liked by 3 people

  9. kipyang says:

    Hi Ms. Pooky 🙂 I’ve nominated you for “Very Inspiring Blogger Award”.. Here’s the link for the instructions — http://kitkatsergio.wordpress.com/2014/06/09/nomination-very-inspiring-blogger-award/

    Thank you for being an inspiration! Have a great day ahead!
    And best regards to you 😀 .. ~Kipyang

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

