Regret

Regret leaves such a bitter taste
That lingers, foul and sour.
A taste that comes to haunt you
Day by day and hour by hour.

Regret is best avoided,
At all costs, if possible,
Because it takes the nicest folk
And turns them most horrible.

Regret makes us look backwards,
With our twenty-twenty eyes,
And pinpoint a decision,
Once thought sound, but now despised.

Regret is never helpful,
And it never paves the way,
For a life that’s full and happy
Where we cherish every day.

So let’s take regret and throw it
In a big pit with despair,
And hatred and with cruelty
And let them all fester there.

20140523-193232.jpg

Today’s prompt is to write a poem which has a one word title and that word is repeated at least twice.

This entry was posted in Daily Life, Emotions, Life Lessons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Regret

  1. charlypriest says:

    Regrets…..useless if you ask me. Is not that you´re getting into a travel machine and go back in time to fix what you said or what you done, just move on and try to do or say better things in the future sort of redeem yourself, learn from past mistakes, but not live in the past. As always very well written and specially liked the message.

    Like

  2. wbdeejay says:

    A great poem with sentiments that I agree with entirely.

    Like

  3. angharad says:

    Another wonderful poem! I love the imagery you create – I can just picture that pit full of festering regrets. I don’t believe in regrets either – everything happens for a reason, and we make decisions which we believe to be best at any one time, so what is the use in regretting?

    Like

  4. words4jp says:

    Regrets are deadly. They can kill a person inside.

    Like

  5. Regret, guilt, all emotions that fester as you have said so well. Great poem!!

    Like

  6. We all have regrets over one thing or another but they do stop us from moving forward in our lives so I’m all with you Pooky in dumping them.

    Like

  7. Regret can be debilitating. I agree with summerstormy that regret is a part of life, one that needs to be looked at, dealt with, then discarded. It ‘s a rare person who never has a moment of regret. I believe unacknowledged regret can be as harmful as regret that’s held onto.

    Another topic I was going to not touch, but I think I will work on something that combines the two topics of Regret and Fragile Friendships. You do reel me in, Pooky. 🙂 x

    I shall leave you with one of my favourite songs – someone had to do it. 🙂

    ► 2:26► 2:26
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fFtGfyruroU

    Like

    • PookyH says:

      Did you write? I can’t find it?

      Regret is a big deal for me. My main aim in life each day is to live each moment in a way that will cause me no regrets.

      Like

      • I regret to say, I didn’t. (Sorry could’t help it.)
        Seriously this is a huge topic for me, as is ‘fragile friendship’. When I started to write I found I was in danger of ‘falling into the hole’, so I stopped. May get back to it today. xx

        Like

      • PookyH says:

        Oh no… Hole avoidance is important. I find the words can help box up the hole but if yours might make it bigger and the edges more crumbly then maybe you should write about kittens instead?.

        Like

  8. Doofus Tricia strikes again. Shall I plead old age and ill health, or just fess up to getting wrapped up in your poem, Pooky, and forgetting that the topic was ‘One Word’ and Regret was your word? Think I’ll go with ‘fess up’.
    going now – promise. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. colonialist says:

    Too true! Be like Frank – have too few to mention! 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

