Nice is Good

I knew when we met
There was no going back
He’s too nice! I protested
His life is on track.
You certainly weren’t
Like the others I’d known
Whose strange kind of love
I had so soon outgrown.
You were friendly and charming
Clever and cute
I distinctly recall
That I couldn’t compute
What a boy like yourself
Saw in little old me,
But you said you saw something
And taught me to see.
The first time I met you
Was almost the last,
But a small voice inside me
Was simply aghast…
You mustn’t desert him
Because he’s too nice,
(The small voice inside me
Gave quite sage advice)
And I’m glad that I listened
Because 11 years on,
You’re still nice, but my
Reservations are gone.
And I think nice is good,
I think nice is the best,
And our lifetime together,
Is a fabulous quest.

20140520-195955.jpg

I veered a little from today’s prompt:

This entry was posted in Emotions, Family, Love, Relationships, To my husband and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Nice is Good

  1. Aw this is lovely Pooky. I had one for today that veered away a little, but I cant find it. However its in my book and called The Summer of 67.. Im pleased youre 11 years on and happy. 😊 . I cant write poems quickly or on demand so that’s why all my offerings are already written, xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • PookyH says:

      It’s lovely to read your poems whenever they were written. I’m yet to read something you’ve written that I’ve not thoroughly enjoyed. I will read The Summer of 67 later. I look forward to it x

      Like

  2. colonialist says:

    Aww – mushy – but that’s how it should be!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. wbdeejay says:

    Nice and Lovely 😉

    Like

  4. words4jp says:

    So very, very sweet.

    Like

  5. topazo says:

    Awww….this is beautiful ..wishing you many more years of happy, and yes, nice life together

    Like

  6. Beautiful, mushy, sappy love, just what I love the best! Beautiful poem, Pooky, and I’m glad you’ve met your life partner and I wish you much happiness in your years together. We made it to 25 and are striving for more, too! ♥

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

