Roses

Their scent hitchhiked on the breeze,
Tantalising the nostrils of all who passed.
Delicate notes of summer days,
Sweet drops of beautiful
Picking up where the scent of grass clippings left off.
Filling the void left by giddy summer thoughts,
And bringing a smile to the face
Of all who smelt them.
In full bloom, the roses’ beauty was unparalleled,
Yet their looks paled in comparison to their scent.
A woman passed, doubling back
To consume the heady smell.
She was reminded of the months she carried her first child,
When she felt intoxicated by the smell of roses.
She breathed deeply.
The floral notes robust, yet delicate, filled her completely.
One hand held a rose to her face,
The other gently touched her stomach.
Flat and empty.
She realised she was broody.
It was time.

Roses - a poem by Pooky

This poem is in response to the prompt write a poem which describes the smell of something.

This entry was posted in Daily Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Roses

  1. CC Champagne says:

    Ahhhh… I can actually smell them from here! Such a sunny and beautiful poem!

    Like

  2. doug says:

    Intriguing, I like the way a scent can bring back memories and you’ve captured this perfectly here

    Like

    • PookyH says:

      Thank you Doug – I often think that smell is the most evocative sense. It’s amazing how a certain smell can magically transport you back decades to a specific moment in time. I find this more since I had Lyra, strangely my sense of smell heightened when i was pregnant (which is quite common I think) but it never reset afterwards. Which is fabulous unless there is someone smoking nearby!

      Like

  3. Lovely Pooky, you capture the smell and the significance it brings to you. Broody really, lovely link.

    Like

  4. colonialist says:

    So evocative!
    One would hope her partner rose to the occasion! 🙂
    I am about to post a l…o…n…g contribution to your theme of way back on childhood homes.

    Like

    • PookyH says:

      Very good!

      I look forward to your contribution! I’ve been reading everyone’s poems on trains and buses but not had a proper chance to comment, they’re fabulous though. I’ll keep an eye out for this one x

      Like

  5. I was in an English country garden until I got to the last four lines. That was a surprise!

    Like

  6. wbdeejay says:

    Ooh, so much in here! But my favourite part was the first line with the scent hitchhiking on the breeze!

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

