Depression

Think happy thoughts!
She did not understand depression,
But meant well.

[I’m taking part in NaPoWriMo – the challenge today was for a lune, which is rather like a haiku but with word count rather than syllables.]

This entry was posted in #NaPoWriMo, depression, Haiku, Mental Health, Poetry Challenges and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Depression

  1. I read this and thought immediately of your struggle to limit it to so few well chosen words. I have known a few ‘well meaning’ souls in my time as well.

    Like

  2. chattinatti says:

    I like how the reader is able to get the full impact through so few words. You did a great job with the Lune challenge! 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Day 4 NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge…Write a Lune. | chattinatti

  4. words4jp says:

    this is a perfect piece – yes, the form, but the meaning – so very, very true.

    Like

  5. I see I was right, yours is very good too!

    God Bless,
    Donna

    Like

  6. So much thought in so few words. Well done. We know the well-meaning, unaware people who mouth nothings.

    Like

  7. inktuition says:

    Oh, the simplicity of so few words. Beautifully put. I could call for ‘MORE’ but that would be futile.

    Like

  8. inktuition says:

    Oh, the simplicity of so few words. Beautifully put. I could call for ‘MORE’ but that would be futile. Your three-line lune is complete.

    Like

    • PookyH says:

      thank you – it’s funny how such a short poem seems to have said more to people than many far longer ones I’ve written!

      Like

      • inktuition says:

        I know. We put so much into our longer ones. But somehow brevity is so much more compelling and powerful, for some people. Good to reach out in such an engaging way.

        Like

      • PookyH says:

        I know what you mean – I am often amazed by how much a talented poet can convey in very few words. I usually shy away from very short pieces as it’s not a talent I feel I’ve mastered but I’m working on it.

        Like

  9. jenjilks says:

    I suffer depression, too. Well done, poetically-speaking!
    BTW
    Haiku in English doesn’t count syllables! I did some research when I was teaching writing.

    Like

    • PookyH says:

      Thank you – having read your post re Haiku, I’m intrigued to learn more… I didn’t realise they were quite *that* complicated. I found the lune a little less daunting!

      Like

  10. OnTheWay... says:

    Made me smile and remember a part of a training I give – best and worst things to say to someone with depression. If I had a £1 for every time I’ve been told to just think happier… I could open that community youth centre I’ve been dreaming of! 😛 x

    Like

    • PookyH says:

      I think it’s hard too as it’s usually people who really do want to help. That said, it is hard to know what to say…

      p.s. re your youth centre, tell me more, can I play? x

      Like

  11. wbdeejay says:

    nailed it
    poetry perfection

    Like

  12. A very powerful lune. And yes people care and mean well, but sometimes no words are better than the ‘cheer up’ kind. There is nothing wrong with honestly saying you care but don’t know what to say. There is also nothing wrong with sitting in silence with someone who’s suffering. Tears and silence are a necessary part of life sometimes. A gentle back rub is often more helpful than words, if it’s appropriate. Letting the person know you care is what’s important.

    I’ll follow my own advice and shut up now. 🙂
    Tricia xx

    Like

    • PookyH says:

      I think it’s hard to know what to do or say. I agree with you and actively advocate ‘saying something is better than saying nothing’ in fact I recently wrote a of post about it:

      http://www.inourhands.com/mental-health/saying-something-shows-care-even-dont-get-quite-right/

      However,I think the words you say need to be meant and felt. Meaningless platitudes can feel very insulting or at least I’ve found it to be do. It feels like your issue is dismissed somehow? I’m not sure..,

      It is LOVELY to see you here. No pressure to continue to drop by but please know that seeing your face pop up in my notifications made me smile inside and out xxx

      Like

  13. CC Champagne says:

    Only just read this now, but it really touched me. Been there, and heard those (mostly) well-meaning words far too often… Horrible (not the poem, the poem is beautiful)!

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

