Bedtime is Hard When You are Three

Bedtime is hard when you are three,
There are so many things to see,
So many crazy things to do,
Each day has time for just a few.
Then bed time comes around too fast,
And time for fun today has passed,
And time for sleep has come around,
But the will to sleep cannot be found.
Because you’d rather have more fun,
And yes, you’re not the only one,
I’m kind of sad it’s bedtime too,
Because I love my time with you.
But, my darling, bedtime’s here,
And please, my sweetheart, have no fear,
Tomorrow is a brand new day,
Another chance to run and play,
And so we will ’til it grows dark,
And then again our fun, we’ll park.
Just overnight, just whilst we rest,
Because good sleep helps us play best.

This entry was posted in Children's Poems, Daily Life, Family, Messages for my Children, Parent-Child, Parenting, Poems about Children and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Bedtime is Hard When You are Three

  1. I read this with a smile Pooky, as the father of 6 I have to say bedtimes for me were more times to get the kids off to bed and have some me time, which usually meant late at night so it was never very long as there was work to go to the next day.

    Like

  2. words4jp says:

    Very sweet. Very, very sweet.

    Like

  3. lulupoetrycorner says:

    Aww, so sweet πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. The point is emphasized when, late in the evening, you finally recognize the sound of silence, then panic, wondering what’s wrong, to find the toddler passed out on the floor in the middle of some activity. πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Oloriel says:

    Adorable and sweet, I will read it to my son! πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. mtanub says:

    a sweet letter from a mother to her loved little one. πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Otrazhenie says:

    Beautiful poem. Reminded me my children when they were in that age. πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Gorgeous and true to the last word. Lovely. Xx 😊

    Like

  9. wbdeejay says:

    Bedtime can also be hard at other ages where distraction is prevalent, try 45, but I guess it’s more consistently so at 3. Beautiful bouncy poem about the everyday here Pooky. I loved that at the end you brought in the good reason to get some sleep, so we can play better tomorrow! X

    Like

  10. Line says:

    How lovely! πŸ™‚

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

