The Power of Santa’s Naughty List

Counting down to Christmas,
Is a special time of year.
It’s full of fun and magic
And new memories we’ll hold dear.
Each new day of advent,
Brings us closer to the day,
All children love, and parents too,
A day when we all play.
As well as decorations,
Christmas songs and festive moods,
There’s something about Christmas
That I wouldn’t want to loose;
And that, my friends, is Santa’s list
Of who’s been good and bad.
That perfect parent bribery tool
Means good behaviour will be had
Right on through to Christmas day
As children try their best,
To stay on F.C’s good list
And us parents get a rest,
For a few short weeks each year,
When the threat of Santa’s lists,
Need only be alluded to
And naughtiness desists.
But there’s just one thing that scares me
And perhaps you’ve wondered too?
How will we get them to behave
When Christmas day is through?

The power of Santa's naughty list - a poem by Pooky

This entry was posted in Family, Parent-Child, Parenting, Poems about Children and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Power of Santa’s Naughty List

  1. The age old problem Pooky, just how to do that!! Lovely poem enjoyed it, made me remember when my kids were that age. Though oddly enough they still like to stay in my good books even now!!

    Like

    • PookyH says:

      You need to teach me a thing or two about child rearing in which case!

      Like

    • I don’t think so, so much of it is hit and miss, and using a bit of common sense. And the most important thing I think is always talking with your kids, not at them.

      Like

      • PookyH says:

        That is something I try hard to do. I was a pretty bright kid who felt constantly talked down to (I won a letter writing competition aged 11 when I wrote a letter to the medical profession about their lack of respect for my opinions about my mother’s medication. For the record, I was right and they sent her into a tailspin of mania that resulted in her living with a stranger and hooked on methadone. I digress…) So I think it’s really important to listen carefully to everyone’s opinion. Even if they happen to be small in stature.

        I wish there was a secret set of rules I could follow, though no doubt I’d get bored and break them!

        Like

      • Pooky, being a smart woman you would know the inherent danger of rules, they are made to be broken. And smart people break them, because they can, and its fun!

        Like

      • PookyH says:

        I love that I’ve fooled you into thinking I’m a smart woman. The power of the internet 🙂

        Like

      • Well it works both ways you know. For whatever reason I’ve got you reading my blog too….lol.

        Like

      • PookyH says:

        Indeed. And I enjoy every post 🙂

        Like

  2. All good fun! Lol 😊 x

    Like

  3. Mayfair Mum says:

    Love it! I wish I knew – put them on next year’s list already…?

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

