Tales told by hair

Brushing the knots
From your child’s hair
Gives you a tour
Of the what-when-where
Of the way they’ve spent
The last few hours:
Baking cakes,
Or picking flours…
The evidence
Is always there
Nestled in
Your child’s hair.
A sticky sweet,
A lump of clay,
Some blades of grass
Or bits of hay.
A piece of cheese,
Some butter-cream,
A felt pen top;
It doesn’t seem
Quite possible
These locks could hold
So many secrets,
Not yet told.

Tales told by hair - a poem by Pooky

This entry was posted in Family, Frivolity and Frippery, Parent-Child, Parenting, Poems about Children and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tales told by hair

  1. Brushing my daughters hair was more a matter of wondering how they managed to get their hair in such a state. Though i like how you have created a poem from the speculation of what she has been doing. Lovely Pooky. Well done.

    Like

    • PookyH says:

      I do find it somewhat remarkable I have to say – One of my daughters has very curly hair which doesn’t lend itself to dipping into paint and puddings as badly but also doesn’t like to be brushed, the other has very long hair she rarely ties back so her hair is always very *interesting*….

      Like

  2. Another beauty, Pooky. Such an original concept, the tale of the day through bits found in a childs hair. Again it’s beautiful to read aloud. Sometimes it can be difficult, particularly with long hair, to get the tangles out. This lovely poem could be used to distract and make hair brushing fun.
    Love it. x

    Like

    • PookyH says:

      Thanks Tricia! I guess this is what happens when you put yourself in the position of writing a poem every day (some days which are very time poor!) you end up seeking the most mundane inspiration and trying to make it more interesting… thank you for your kind words, as always xxx

      Like

  3. wbdeejay says:

    Heehee, a forgotten storage place!

    Like

  4. Mayfair Mum says:

    This is funny! I’m so glad my son’s hair is short and tangle free. It was a bit mad and curly when he was two but we tend to use the tales of what we “find” in it to get us through hair washing, which even now, is a time in his schedule he clearly hates! We’ve “found” all sorts to get us all through he ordeal!

    Like

    • PookyH says:

      I still feel like that about washing my hair…. πŸ˜‰

      I remember Lyra going to visit her grandad in hospital once and as we walked down a really quiet ward she suddenly announced REALLY loudly ‘Oh look, I’ve just found a lollipop in my hair, can I eat it Mum?’ – I literally wanted the ground to swallow me up!

      Like

  5. Ah I remember those days! My younger daughter was a hortor when I tried o brush her hair! Youd think I was torturing her!! I sometimes had to do it in stages!

    Lovely poem Pooky, evoking memories for me.

    Xx

    Like

    • PookyH says:

      The girls make a fuss if Tom brushes their hair but they’re fine with me which is odd as I’m a lot rougher. I always liked it when my mum brushed my hair really hard and it would really annoy me when my dad had to brush it if she was in hospital as he’d be so soft and gentle. I must have been a strange child…

      Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

