Minimo….

Why must you call it a minimo dear?
It’s kind of embarrassing,
The meaning unclear…
There are so many possible names
You could choose
For your ‘lady parts’
But yet the name that you use,
Is the frightfully strange,
And unnervingly cute
‘Minimo’…
And now your sister’s followed suit.
Have you any idea,
How embarrassed I feel,
When we go to the doctor
And you state with some zeal:
‘My minimo itches’
My cheeks are aflame,
As I translate for doctor
And explain it’s the name,
That you call your vagina
What’s wrong with *that* word?
He thinks I taught you Minimo,
He thinks I’m quite absurd
But you happened upon it,
By chance,
On your own.
And you rejoice in exclaiming it,
In most unsubtle tones.
I’d prefer if you called it,
By its real name…
But to you
This is now
A hilarious game.

Minimo - a poem by Pooky

This entry was posted in Family, Frivolity and Frippery, Messages for my Children, Parent-Child, Parenting, Poems about Children and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Minimo….

  1. lulupoetrycorner says:

    Oh, that’s too cute. Kids say the darnedest things.

    Like

  2. Yes our kids have names for so many things, its good if you can remember and remind them when they get to be teenagers. Then it does become embarrassing.Good one Pooky.

    Like

  3. pauline says:

    When I was growing up it was called a ‘lemon’. When ever we went out in the car my dad would shout up the stairs, come on girls, go squeeze your lemons. (meaning go for a wee.)

    Like

  4. Love it. Would love to know what prompted her to choose that name. 🙂

    Like

  5. Funny! Bless her. They do come out with the strangest names for some things. As Tricia said, I wonder how she arrived at minimo! X 😊

    Like

    • PookyH says:

      It’s a word we’ve become strangely attached to as it appears to be unique to our family. No idea where it came from. The girls used to have all sorts of random words for things that they used between themselves before they learnt to talk properly but this is one of very few that persists. I assumed it was slang she’d heard somewhere else but Google doesn’t seem to recognise it so I think it’s a Lyra-Ellie invention.

      Like

  6. wbdeejay says:

    🙂 handled very well!

    Like

  7. Joanna young says:

    This really made me smile as this is what I have always called it & so does my 3 year old. A lot of my family & friends do too so she has probably heard someone else use it before. That’s what my parents called it when I was little so it’s obviously been used for some time. Shout out to the minnimoo’s xxx

    Like

    • PookyH says:

      Really? When I googled it I expected to learn it was a typical slang but I can’t find hide nor hare of it and you’re the first person I’ve come across who’s connected with this bizarre word (we’ve grown quite attached to it!)

      Like

      • Joanna says:

        🙂 yes really as in I thought most people had heard of this nick name for it! I just tapped into Google “anyone call their vagina a mini moo” & quite a bit come up so try that. Your daughter must of heard one of her friends or someone at school refer to it as that. It’s a cute name for it. Haha sure your doctor will know what one is & of heard of it!

        Like

      • PookyH says:

        ah… mini moo you say…. Lyra says ‘minimo’ to rhyme with geronimo

        (I cant believe we’re having this conversation!)

        Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

