Letting Go

As I hold your hand in mine,
I see forward to a time,
When I’ll have to let it go
And send you on your way, and so
I never take for granted these
Sweet moments when we shoot the breeze,
Walk hand in hand, and share our dreams.
The future’s closer than it seems.
I never want to let it go,
Your hand in mine is precious, so
I’ll hold your fingers tight in mine,
And bid brave farewells when it is time.

Letting Go - a poem by Pooky

This entry was posted in Death, Emotions, Family, Life Lessons, Parent-Child, Parenting, Poems about Children and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Letting Go

  1. randomblurting says:

    awwww, this is sooo sweet 🙂 Loved it.

    Like

  2. Beautiful thoughts Pooky, we as parents in many ways dread the day that stops happening, even now with my children grown there are days when I wish that could still happen, as opposed to the looks of horror should I try it now…lol

    Like

    • PookyH says:

      I’m a real hand holder, I hold hands with my girls, my husband, my friends. I think everyone should hold hands all the time. It calms us! And yet… I realise my girls are getting bigger and there will come a time when I have to let go…

      Like

  3. Oh Pooky, this is a wonderful meditation on motherhood. It’s has a sense of metaphor combined with reality.
    As Ken grew older we went out for dinner regularly because there were no distractions, just the 3 of us around a table. No one had to get up or worry about preparing the food. It was a time for sharing, closeness fun and deep and meaningful conversation.

    Like

    • PookyH says:

      When you speak of Ken, it often sounds like some of the most precious times were once he was a bit older. It sounds like you had a very special and honest and open relationship. You must have many memories to cherish.

      Like

  4. This is so lovely Pooky, and something we, as mothers, cherish. Your poem brought back lots of cosy memories, and of course,I can now hold hands all over again! 😊

    Like

  5. wbdeejay says:

    Yes indeed, make the most of now!

    Like

  6. We forgot to tell you that Alix & Roxane from “Tails from Paris” have nominated your blog for the Inner Peace Blog Award :
    http://tailsfromparis.com/2013/11/08/the-inner-peace-blog-award/

    Because you’re worth it 😉

    Have a peacefully coming week !
    Alix & Roxane

    Like

  7. Wendy says:

    Thanks for following my blog.
    I love reading your poems, keep up the good work.

    Like

  8. Mayfair Mum says:

    This is sweet. I’m feeling this at the moment. Five is such a watershed age. From toddler to child. I’m losing that chubby little monster that loves nothing more than a cuddle with Mummy and a silly game. Now he’s always mad at me for something I told him to do and doesn’t want to know! :<

    Like

  9. Beautiful, Pooky, and one that I can currently relate to! Letting go isn’t easy, but it’s necessary and inevitable! 🙂

    Like

  10. words4jp says:

    I miss those days when they used to hold my hand. Now they are grown boys – one not quite a man – he is 16 and the other just about a man – almost 19. Letting go of them has been the most difficult thing. I have known since before they were born these days would come and they have. We have so many years to prepare – it does not make it easier.

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

