How to Find Fairies in your Garden

Do you know the best way

To find fairy folk?

If not, then I’ll tell you

Because I once spoke

To the Queen of the fairies

Who told me the way

To encourage her subjects

To come out to play.

 

The first thing she told me

Was always to bring

A freshly peeled orange,

And to wait by the swing.

Fairies love to smell oranges,

And cannot resist

Their citrussy perfume,

To them it’s pure bliss.

 

Then the Fairy Queen told me

To get on the swing,

And go back and forth gently

And not say a thing.

When you swing (not too high)

Then the fairies join in

Sitting quietly unnoticed

On the edge of the swing.

 

You have to be quiet

When there’s fairies nearby,

Because your voice sounds ferocious

To their ears, so please try

To whisper quite quietly

Or say nothing at all,

Said the kind Fairy Queen

Who was gracious and small.

 

Before she flew off

The Queen commented that,

Fairies are scared

Of our beloved pet cats.

When fairies see cats

They swiftly fly home,

So it’s best to go searching

For fairies alone.

How to Find Fairies in Your Garden - a poem by Pooky

[You might also like to find out what the tooth fairies do with all the teeth they collect ]

This entry was posted in Children's Poems, Fantasy, Frivolity and Frippery and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to How to Find Fairies in your Garden

  1. This is so sweet. You are doing a very good job of one a day! The only one a day I can do is swallow vitamins!! Lol 😄

    Like

    • PookyH says:

      I don’t know how long I’ll last but I do quite like the discipline of it and I’m finding it quite fascinating though it does mean the quality varies somewhat! x

      Like

  2. The quality is fine!! 😊

    Like

  3. lulupoetrycorner says:

    So cute:)

    Like

  4. Your poems always make me smile!

    Like

  5. Mr. CATSOE says:

    “Those who don’t believe in magic… will never find it”
    Everyone need a little fantasy in life.. 😉
    Loved it..!!

    Like

  6. dflorack says:

    Very cute, Pooky! I enjoyed that.

    Like

  7. Cubby says:

    Aw, why are they afraid of cats? Sniff. Still love the poem. You have a wonderful imagination. 🙂

    Like

    • PookyH says:

      It’s just because cats like to chase fairies and play with them. It doesn’t generally work out so well for the fairies….

      I wonder what pets fairies have? There’s a poem for another day (Ellie is a big fairy fan. Tom has carved her a jack o lantern of tinker bell!)

      Like

  8. Brenda says:

    Great poem! Makes me want to take my daughter out to the swings with an orange right away!! LOL

    Like

  9. Louise Allan says:

    Whimsical and beautiful, Pooky!

    Like

  10. Thanks for your interest in “Sous nos Couettes”. We’re now following your blog.

    If you want to sharpen your international sense of humor, we do also have an English version called “Tails from Paris” : http://tailsfromparis.wordpress.com/.

    Thanks for sharing if you enjoy it too …

    Best from Paris, France

    Alix, Roxane & their bald, bold & funny (at least he pretends to …) Dad

    Like

  11. wbdeejay says:

    Brilliant. Really enjoyed the innocence and sense of adventure here.

    Like

  12. darcsunshine says:

    Your poem made me smile thank you

    Like

  13. How lovely and you are right they do not like cats, brings out the dark side of a fairy does a cat. I enjoyed your poem, in fact I have enjoyed all I have read and I shall add you to my list. Also thank you for following my blog.

    Like

  14. Lee Roy says:

    Wow, this is so sweet, and full of that magic dust that swirls around and returns one day as a memory, and never leaves . . . imagining hearing this from a child’s point of view. 🙂

    Like

  15. Reblogged this on Women Who Think Too Much by Jeanne Marie and commented:
    I love this poem! I always have fairies in my garden!

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

