My Baby Always

I look at you
And wonder where
The baby, that was
In my care,
Has vanished to…
She’s gone I fear,
And with her,
Memories held dear
Of precious times
You needed me,
And clung to me,
And fed from me.
I was your everything
Back then,
And then you grew.
But when? But when?
You grew by stealth,
I didn’t see.
It didn’t happen
Gradually.
I woke one day
And saw you there,
A child grown
Who needs less care.
I thought I’d lost
My baby then,
‘Til sleep brought
Baby back again.
As you sleep
Away the day,
Your baby face
Comes out to play.
I love you baby,
Always will.
You’re my precious
Baby still.

This entry was posted in Family, Parent-Child, Parenting, Poems about Children and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Baby Always

  1. Lovely Pooky. And I still feel the same when I get a glimpse of mine when they sleep and our eldest is 40!!!:)

    Like

    • PookyH says:

      That’s so lovely to know! I’m sure I’ll still see my girls as babies even when they’re old and grey and have grand-babies of their own…

      How are you today? x

      Like

  2. Cubby says:

    Aw, that is such a sweet and lovely poem. Beautifully written. Love it. 🙂

    Like

  3. lulupoetrycorner says:

    Lovely. 1 Mom to another: No matter, age or size..always my baby. We are blessed to have these gifts:)

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

