A Sense of Longing

I see you,
And I long for you.
You’re going about mundane tasks,
Industrious as ever,
Impervious to my stares.
Longing fills my heart and soul,
And feels like a baby lodged there,
Kicking,
Screaming,
Dying to be let out.
I am stretched thin with longing.
It tires me.
Your voice floats across to me,
Wisps of your gentle tones
Tickle my ears,
Enter my consciousness,
Like an echo of my mind.
Lost in my thoughts,
I’m taken aback when
Suddenly you’re there.
One hand on my shoulder,
The other gently touching my hair.
You touch me softly,
But it feels electric.
Your warmth spreads through me,
Your fingertips make me whole.
And then we kiss.
You taste of longing.
And I know that,
You saw me,
And you wanted me too.

A sense of longing - a poem by Pooky

[Today’s NaPoWriMo prompt was to write a poem featuring at least three of the five senses]

This entry was posted in #NaPoWriMo, Daily Life, Emotions, Family, Love, Poetry Challenges, Relationships, To my husband and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Sense of Longing

  1. CC Champagne says:

    OMG (sorry for the sad abbreviation)! I want this! I want this so badly! You really made me feel it with these words. Fantastic!!!

    Like

  2. This is my first ‘proper’ visit here & my goodness- how stunning is this!! It is such an evocative love story. Brilliant!

    Like

  3. Serena Malcolm says:

    Wow: “And then we kiss. | You taste of longing. | And I know that, | You saw me, |And you wanted me too.” I really felt this. Deliciously good!

    Like

  4. wbdeejay says:

    Moving and inspiring! I’ve never seen you write quite like this before, it’s wonderful. xx

    Like

  5. tillywainwright says:

    I really loved this! I deleted my blog accidentally tonight, please re-follow and I’ll be reposting old poetry as well as new things!

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...